Certification Information

 Across the U.S., operator certification standards vary significantly from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. Quite often, certification standards are seen at the State and Local levels but there is no nationally mandated operator certification process. A voluntary national certification exists for a small segment of the industry through the US EPA’s High Capacity Fossil Fuel Fired Plant Operator Program administered by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) . Third party national programs for certification at all levels of responsibility do exist however. The largest of these third party certifying bodies is the National Institute for the Uniform Licensing of Power Engineers (NIULPE) which serves all 50 states and protectorates as well as being the designated third party certifying body for the US Army.

Currently 10 states have licensure requirements as well as over 60 metropolitan areas encompassing more that 75% of all US industrial and commercial boiler operation capacity. More than 300 licenses for certification of boiler operating personnel currently exist in the United States at the state and local level. Customized PanGlobal learning products are available as knowledge preparation for licensure examinations in many major cities and states as well as the national NIULPE certification program. Please check your local jurisdiction or our website for the availability and approval of certification support products for your licensure requirements.


State Certifications

  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Ohio